Get to Know the 2013-2014 Minnesota Legislature

image of state capitol

The new Minnesota Legislature will convene in only 55 days, on January 8, 2013. Who will serve in the 2013-2014 session? Get to know them by downloading the 2012 Election Directory put together by legislature staff.

In the House, the DFL will have a 73-61 majority. Of those elected, 31 percent are new to the House. In the Senate, where the DFL will hold a 39-28 majority, 30 percent are new members

Last week, new legislative leaders were selected.  The Speaker of the House will be Rep. Paul Thissen (DFL-Minneapolis) and the Minority Leader will be Rep. Kurt Daudt (GOP-Crown). In the Senate, Sen. Tom Bakk (DFL- Cook) will serve as Majority Leader, Sen. Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul) as Senate President, and Sen. David Hann (GOP – Eden Prairie) as Minority Leader.

**Information from the Minnesota Council of NonProfits Legislative Update email.**

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s